Q: Does Florida reciprocate with other states?
A: No, Florida offers licensure by examination only.
Q: : I have just graduated from Chiropractic school and moved to Florida, what can I do?
A: The only function that can be performed in a chiropractic office are clerical duties. You may apply for a certified chiropractic physicians assistant license. The application may be found in your chiropractic application booklet, or you can download the application. Please read all instructions regarding this application. A certified chiropractic physicians assistant may NOT perform manipulations or adjustments, or take x-rays unless properly certified to do so.
All chiropractors must be licensed in order to practice and are only allowed to practice in the state in which they are licensed. The state of Florida requires that all chiropractors take, and pass, the four-part chiropractic exam administered by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners. Any Florida chiropractic student in his or her final year of the chiropractic program may take the licensure exams. All first-time licensed chiropractors in Florida must attend eight hours at a Florida Board meeting that conducts disciplinary hearings.
Licensed Florida chiropractors are required to complete 40 hours of continuing education courses every two years. Of the 40 hours of continuing education, two must be in ethics, two in prevention of medical errors, three in risk management and six in record keeping. Florida chiropractors that have obtained the optional acupuncture license are required to take 12 hours of acupuncture education, which is included in the 40 hours of continuing education.
Soreide Law Group, PLLC, represents those with licensure issues in front of the Florida Board of Chiropractic Medicine. For more information regarding our services or to speak to a lawyer regarding your license please call: (888) 760-6552, or visit our website at www.floridaprofessionallicense.com.