Florida Dental Examinations

An applicant shall be entitled to take the examination to practice dentistry in Florida if he/she:

  • Is 18 years of age or older;
  • Is a graduate of a dental school accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of the American Dental Association or its successor agency, if any, or any other nationally recognized accrediting agency; or is a dental student in the final year of a program at such an accredited school who has completed all the coursework necessary to prepare the student to perform the clinical and diagnostic procedures required to pass the examinations. With respect to a dental student in the final year of a program at a dental school, a passing score on the examinations is valid for 180 days after the date the examinations were completed. A dental school student who takes the licensure examinations during the student’s final year of an approved dental school must have graduated before being certified for licensure pursuant to s. 466.011, F.S.;
  • Has successfully completed the American Dental Association National Board of Dental Examiners dental examination, Parts I and II, within 10 years of the date of application.  If scores are older than ten years, must retake clinical examination (Part II).

If an applicant is a graduate of a dental college or school not accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of American Dental Association or of a dental college or school not approved by the board, he shall not be entitled to take the examination required until he/she meets the additional requirements.

Always check with the Florida Board of Dentistry for new requirements and updates to their licensing requirements.

Soreide Law Group represents those seeking admittance to the Florida Board of Dentistry. We also represent those dentists brought in front of the Florida Board of Dentistry for disciplinary hearings.  To speak to a lawyer regarding these issues please call: (888) 760-6552, or visit our website at: www.floridaprofessionallicense.com.