These are some of the Florida requirements to take the CPA exam:
1. You must have successfully completed a minimum of 120 semester hours of college credit as determined by the Florida Board of Accountancy, and you must have at least a bachelor’s degree or its international equivalent.
2. You must have completed 24 semester hours of upper division business courses, 24 semester hours of upper division accounting education courses and 6 semester hours in business law courses.
3. Florida also requires an additional 30 hours of coursework (for a total of 150 hours) and one year of work experience under the supervision of a CPA in order to become licensed after completion of the CPA Exam.
Your application can be submitted online or mailed to the Florida Board of Accountancy accompanied by a non-refundable application fee of $50.
We highly recommend visiting the Florida Board of Accountancy’s website for the most current and accurate information.
Remember, your license is your livelihood.
The Soreide Law Group represents Florida licensed CPA’s in front of the Florida Board of Accountancy (BOA) and the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (PCAOB) regarding any licensing issues. For more information about professional licensing law please call to speak with an attorney at: (888) 760-6552.